Our approach gives children the ability to observe their thoughts and feelings as they happen, non-judgmentally. 

This enables children to press ‘pause’ and consider their chosen response, rather than simply reacting, and empowers them to be in control.

PHSE At Clapagte

Jigsaw, the mindful approach to PSHE, brings together Personal, Social, Health Education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a

 comprehensive scheme of learning.


At Clapgate Primary School, we have introduced a whole school PSHE scheme called Jigsaw.  Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme (Puzzle) at the same time. 
Jigsaw aims to help children know and value who they really are and how they relate to other people in this ever-changing world.
There are six Puzzles (half-term units of work) each with six Pieces (lessons). Every year group studies the same Puzzle at the same time, allowing for whole school themes and the end of Puzzle product. Each year group is taught one lesson per week and all lessons are delivered in an age and stage appropriate way so that they meet children’s needs. 

The different puzzle pieces are: 

Overview of Subject Approach

Please see the document below which clearly outlines the different units being covered from Reception – Y6:

PSHE at Clapgate

Human Development and Reproduction in the Primary Curriculum Overview

Learner Profile

Please see the learner profile document below:

Learner Profile PSHE


Knowledge Organisers

Here you will find the knowledge organisers for PSHE from year 1-6. 

Each organiser draws out the spiral knowledge and skills progression within different puzzles, including the key vocabulary used in each year group.

Year 1 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

Year 2 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

Year 3 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

Year 4 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

Year 5 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

Year 6 Jigsaw Skills and knowledge progression

The Six Puzzles (Themes/ Units of work)

There are six Puzzles in Jigsaw that are designed to progress in sequence from the start of each
academic year:

Term 1: Being Me in My World
Term 2: Celebrating Difference (including anti-bullying)
Term 3: Dreams and Goals
Term 4: Healthy Me
Term 5: Relationships
Term 6: Changing Me (including Sex Education)

The whole school works on the same Puzzle at the same time, meaning that each Puzzle can be launched with a whole-school assembly and learning can be celebrated by the whole school in a meaningful way.